Club Coaches Register 2019

Seniors Coaches - Tuesdays

Name

Email Address

Level

Speciality

George 

Arbuckle

georgearbuckle@hotmail.com 

CiRF

Half & Full Marathon, Running Technique & Mental Strategy

Jeremy 

Bell

jem.bell@virginmedia.com

CiRF

General Running Advice. Juniors

Mark 

Billington

markybill@ntlworld.com

CiRF

General Running Advice

Jerry 

Day

Jerry.day@hotmail.com 

CiRF

General Running Advice

Nick 

Jones

nick25348@gmail.com

CiRF

Track and Marathons

Richard 

Jones(RJ2)

richie.a.jones@btinternet.com

CiRF

General Running Advice/ Fitness

Haydn 

Leaker

hleaker@dsl.pipex.com

CiRF

General Running Advice/ Orienteering

Paul 

Owen 

paulowen2@googlemail.com

CiRF

Marathon and Ultras

Christine 

Sharman

chrissie.courty@hotmail.co.uk

CiRF

General Running Advice/beginners improvers

Dave 

Sedgley

DSedgley@talktalk.net

CiRF L3

Mountain/fell  marathons/ Orienteering

Gemma 

Bear

gemmabear2@hotmail.com

LiRF

Beginners & Improvers

Jon 

Bowler

jonbowler09@hotmail.co.uk

LiRF

General Running Advice

Barry 

Dackombe

da.ck.bs@googlemail.com

LiRF

General Running Advice

Steve 

Gibbons

stevenjohngibbons@gmail.com

LiRF

Beginners & Improvers

Stan

Greening

stan_g@mac.com

LiRF

General Running Advice

Vickie 

Humber

vickie@crumbhive.co.uk

LiRF

Beginners & Improvers

Martin 

Lees

Martin.lees@tinyworld.co.uk

LiRF

Post C25K support and advice

Siobhan 

Lees

Siobhan.lees@gmail.com

LiRF

Beginners & Improvers

Philip 

Mead

philipmead@hotmail.com

LiRF

General Running Advice

Nichole 

Neate

nicholehill@hotmail.co.uk

LiRF

Beginners & Improvers

Chris 

Newnham

chris.newnham1@gmail.com

LiRF

General Running Advice

Mark 

Rouse

Mrouse2804@gmail.com

LiRF

Beginners & Improvers/ marathons and Ultras

Giles 

Shorley

giles.shorley@euro.ngc.com
gshorley@virginmedia.com

LiRF

General Running Advice

Val 

Von Arx

ValVonArx@FSmail.net 

LiRF

Nice and easys

Mark 

Waine

m.waine1@sky.com

LiRF

Marathons, Middle Distance & Track 

Abi 

Wells-Day

abigail.lisa.shirley@gmail.com

LiRF

General Running Advice

Louise 

Wilkins

louise.wilkins1971@gmail.com

LiRF

Beginners & Improvers/ half marathons and above

Main

Occasional

 

Above are listed the current club coaches who are responsible for leading training sessions.  Any of the coaches are willing to give advice on training schedules, running safety, and what to do if injured.

Training takes place on Tuesdays: there is one session starting promptly at 6.30pm.  Training is at various locations around Flitwick and Ampthill - but usually starting from Redborne School in Ampthill.  During the late spring and summer the track at the school is used.  Members are divided into 2 or 3 groups depending on ability, under the guidance of the above coaches.  Information on the sessions can be found on the website by clicking the ‘coaching’ button.

 

The club has licensed UKA Level 2 Coaches who are CRB-checked, insured and qualified to coach endurance athletes and deliver sessions. We also have licensed UKA Level 1 Assistant Coaches who are qualified to assist Level 2 coaches.

Coaches are re-licensed every 3 years.

 Level 2 Coaches generally take the lead and will check that there are sufficient allocated coaches to deliver the session.

Level 2 Coaches also make sure that their coaching team is properly briefed and that all have opportunities to contribute - it is perfectly acceptable for a Level 1 Assistant Coach to deliver the main part of the session with support from the Level 2 Coach who is present, but only if the Assistant Coach is provided with sufficient notice to prepare.

All coaches are expected arrange a substitute if they are unable to deliver an allocated session, and to keep their coaching team informed.

The club has many natural leaders who support and encourage their fellow runners when training as groups, and help to ensure that sessions are delivered effectively.

Coaches volunteer their time freely. The Committee is grateful for the time and effort that coaches invest in the club.

Feedback is encouraged from athletes and coaches alike.